Pacuare

near-death:
a drowning experience–
thumps to my head
my helmet–
     a saviour
but through raging water
unfaithful river, never the same
(Heraclitus again)
no thought,
     no pain
no worries, just
     survival
of the fittest, of the luckiest
(perhaps Darwin
was wrong, after all)

for yes, luck
     that pulled me out,
as my knee scraped
against a rock, and my feet
stomped, on grizzly ground,
    outside
where air was to be met
but also stupor,
a disbalance
    of the mind
where to now?
head crying for help,

my voice drowned,
lost
perhaps,
a part of me may have died
     after all

Leave a Reply

